Bibliographic data

Ferraz de Carvalho, Anselmo: Geografia Geral – 6.ª classe. Braga: Cruz e C.ª – Editores, 1915, 339–340.

Peoples of Europe

[p. 339]

162. Peoples of Europe. - The classic subdivision of the European peoples based on their linguistic character is between the big groups of Aryan peoples and non-Aryans. The first ones are divided in three main linguistic families: Latin , living in south-west; Teutonic , the center and north; Slavs , in south-east and orient; and in three smaller groups: Celtics that lives in the extreme northwest of the continent; Hellenic Illyrian , in the extreme south-east and Latvian-Lithuanian , in center.

The group non-Aryan encompasses the Basques, the Finns-Hungarians, the Turks, the Mongols, the Semites and the peoples of Caucasus.

The groups are very heterogeneous in physical type and in civilization.

The Latin people encompass seven distinct groups: French in north; Languedoc-Catalan, Spanish, Portuguese-Gallego, Italian, Romansh and Romanian.

The Teutonic peoples are divided in three big linguistic groups: Anglo-Friesians, Scandinavians and Germans. The first one encompasses the north of Netherlands, north-west of Germany, England, part of Scotland and Ireland.

The Scandinavian group encompasses the Swedish, Norwegians and Danes. Outside of Germany, the German language is widely spoken in the Baltic provinces of Russia, in Poland and in Austria-Hungary.

The Slavs peoples can be divided in three big linguistic groups: oriental, occidental and southern.

Recommended citation: