Source

Bibliographic data

Song, Tan Kim; Seng, Tan Tor: Secondary school geography, Express Course. Vol. 3. Curriculum Development Institute of Singapore Singapore: Pan Pacific Book Distributors, repr. [Nachdr.] ed., 1988 [1985], 284.

"Population Planning and Control in Japan"


[p. 284]

[left column]

[...]

Population Planning and Control in Japan

As mentioned earlier, Japan's population before the 1870s was relatively stable at about 30 million. This was partly due to economic and social practices. For example, it was not expected of the samurai to marry before the age of 30. The preference for boys was widespread in Japan (and China), resulting in some infanticide of girls. A combination of such practices has enabled Japan to maintain a stable population.

[right column]

Although the Japanese government had encouraged the growth in the population after the 1870s, the plan was reversed after the Second World War. Japanese were encouraged to keep their families small. Abortion and other birth control techniques like sterilization and the use of contraceptives were widely practised. For example, there were about 246 000 abortions in 1949 and a record 1 000 000 in 1955.

[...]

Recommended citation:

Source

Bibliographic data

Song, Tan Kim; Seng, Tan Tor: Secondary school geography, Express Course. Bd. 3. Curriculum Development Institute of Singapore Singapur: Pan Pacific Book Distributors, repr. [Nachdr.]. Aufl., 1988 [1985], 284.

"Bevölkerungsplanung und -kontrolle in Japan"


[S. 284]

[linke Spalte]

[...]

Bevölkerungsplanung und –kontrolle in Japan

Wie bereits erwähnt, lag Japans Bevölkerung vor den 1870ern relativ stabil bei etwa 30 Millionen. Das hing teilweise mit der wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Praxis zusammen. So wurde beispielsweise von Samurais nicht erwartet, vor dem Alter von 30 Jahren zu heiraten. Auch der Vorzug von Jungen war in Japan (und China) weit verbreitet, der zu einigen Tötungen von Mädchen führte. eine Kombination solcher Praktiken ermöglichte es Japan, seine Bevölkerung stabil zu halten.

[rechte Spalte]

Obwohl die japanische Regierung nach den 1870ern ein Bevölkerungswachstum förderte, wurde dieser Plan nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg umgedreht. Japaner wurden dazu ermutigt, ihre Familien klein zu halten. Abtreibung und Techniken der Geburtenkontrolle wie Sterilisation und der Gebrauch von Verhütungsmitteln waren weit verbreitet. So wurden beispielsweise 1949 246.000 Abtreibungen durchgeführt und 1955 eine Rekordzahl von 1.000.000.

[...]

Translation:

Recommended citation: