Source

Bibliographic data

Rajendra, N.; Rajendra, V.: World History for Secondary Schools. Vol. 3. Kuala Lumpur: Longman Malaysia, 6th repr. [6. Nachdr.] ed., 1971 [1968], 27.

Consequences of the Industrial Revolution


[p. 27]

[left column]

[...]

Consequences of the Industrial Revolution

The early inventions and discoveries which began the Industrial Revolution had important consequences. One immediate result was the great increase in the quantity of manufactured goods available. Another important result was the rapid growth of cities. Many country people left their farms to work in factories. Gradually, new towns grew up around these factories which were built near the sources of coal, iron and water-power. Some of the great cities of England, such as Manchester, Leeds and Birmingham, started in this way.

The industrial towns were not pleasant places to live in. The workers' quarters were overcrowded and the people lived in the midst of filth and disease.

The factory system

The Industrial Revolution also brought about what was later called the factory system. Working conditions in factories were bad. The people had to work long hours for small wages. Accidents were common and the employer took no responsibility for them. The most unfortunate victims of the factory system were children. Children only four or five years old were employed in factories and mines.

Social changes

Many influential men began to protest against the terrible conditions under which the people lived and worked. Gradually, the English Parliament made new laws to protect workers, particularly women and children. In 1842, it was made illegal to employ women, and children under ten years old, to work in the mines. Another law was passed in 1847 allowing only ten hours of work per day for women, and for boys under eighteen years of age. After 1824, working men

[right column]

[Black-and-white photograph shows two houses with a narrow space between. There are two figures in front of one of the houses.]

[caption:] Bad housing in Britain, 1868

were also allowed to form unions to bargain peacefully with their employers for better working conditions and better wages. Strikes were, however, forbidden for many years.

The beginning of socialism

As the factory system grew, a number of men criticised its evils. Some of these men merely wanted new laws to protect the workers. Others, who were later known as socialists or Communists, demanded complete changes in the system of government and the way people earned their living. We shall read more about them in another chapter.

[Black-and-white print of a painting on which a barefooted, bare-chested child pulls a cart. The child is leaning so far forwards to pull the weight of the cart that it touches the ground with its hands.]

[caption:] A child working in the mines

Recommended citation:

Source

Bibliographic data

Rajendra, N.; Rajendra, V.: World History for Secondary Schools. Bd. 3. Kuala Lumpur: Longman Malaysia, 6th repr. [6. Nachdr.]. Aufl., 1971 [1968], 27.

Die Auswirkungen der industriellen Revolution


[S. 27]

[linke Spalte]

[...]

Die Auswirkungen der industriellen Revolution

Die frühen Erfindungen und Entdeckungen, die die industrielle Revolution auslösten, hatten wichtige Folgen. Ein direktes Resultat war ein großer Anstieg der Menge der verfügbaren produzierten Güter. Eine andere wichtige Folge war das schnelle Wachstum von Städten. Viele Menschen vom Land verließen ihre Farmen, um in Fabriken zu arbeiten. Allmählich entstanden neue Städte um diese Fabriken herum, die in der Nähe der Kohle-, Eisen- und Wasserkraftquellen gebaut wurden. Einige der großen Städte Englands, wie Manchester, Leeds und Birmingham, bildeten sich auf diese Weise.

Die Industriestädte waren keine angenehmen Orte zum Leben. Die Arbeiterviertel waren überfüllt und die Menschen lebten inmitten von Dreck und Krankheit.

Das Fabriksystem

Die industrielle Revolution brachte ebenfalls das mit sich, was später als Fabriksystem bezeichnet wurde. Die Arbeitsbedingungen in den Fabriken waren schlecht. Die Menschen mussten viele Stunden für kleine Löhne arbeiten. Unfälle waren an der Tagesordnung und der Arbeitgeber übernahm keine Verantwortung für sie. Die unglücklichsten Opfer des Fabriksystems waren Kinder. Kinder, die erst vier oder fünf Jahre alt waren, wurden in Fabriken und Minen angestellt.

Sozialer Wandel

Viele einflussreiche Männer begannen gegen die schlimmen Bedingungen, unter denen die Menschen lebten und arbeiteten, zu protestieren. Allmählich entwickelte das englische Parlament neue Gesetze, um Arbeiter zu schützen, besonders Frauen und Kinder. 1842 wurde es für illegal erklärt, Frauen und Kinder unter zehn Jahren anzustellen, um in den Minen zu arbeiten. Ein anderes Gesetz wurde 1847 verabschiedet, das Frauen und Jungen unter achtzehn Jahren nur zehn Stunden Arbeit pro Tag erlaubte. Nach 1824 wurde es arbeitenden Männern

[rechte Spalte]

[Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografie, auf dem zwei Häuserfronten mit einer engen Schlucht dazwischen zu erkennen sind. Vor einem Haus stehen zwei Gestalten.]

[Bildunterschrift:] Schlechte Wohnungen in Großbritannien, 1868

erlaubt, Vereinigungen zu bilden, um friedlich mit ihren Arbeitgebern um bessere Arbeitsbedingungen und bessere Gehälter zu verhandeln. Streiks waren jedoch viele Jahre verboten.

Der Beginn des Sozialismus

Als das Fabriksystem anwuchs, kritisierte eine Reihe von Männern sein Übel. Einige dieser Männer wollten lediglich neue Gesetze zum Schutz der Arbeiter. Andere, die später als Sozialisten oder Kommunisten bekannt wurden, forderten einen umfassenden Wandel im Regierungssystem und der Art, wie Menschen ihren Lebensunterhalt verdienten. Wir werden in einem anderen Kapitel mehr über sie lesen.

[Schwarz-Weiß-Druck eines Gemäldes, auf dem ein barfüßiges Kind mit nacktem Oberkörper einen Wagen zieht. Es stemmt sich so stark gegen das Gewicht des Wagens, dass es mit den Händen den Boden berührt.]

[Bildunterschrift:] Ein Kind, das in den Minen arbeitet

Translation:

Recommended citation: