Bibliographische Daten

Dowiat, Jerzy: Historia 1, dla klasy 1 liceum ogólnoksztalcacego. Historia, Vol. 1. Warsaw: Wydawnictwa Szkolne i Pedagogiczne, 13. Aufl., 1979, 402–403.

Pope Urban II's Appeal to European Knights for the Crusades (1095) by Herfordt, Ewa (2017)

Crusade-participant and chronicler Foulcher de Chartres remembers Pope Urban II’s appeal for the Crusade at the synod in Clermont 1095. The chronicle excerpt at hand is reproduced in the source section that follows the general information section about the socio-economic changes in West Europe (XI-XII Centuries). The report and source sections, in alternating sequence in the history book by Warsaw Medieval Studies professor Jerzy Dowiat (1920-1982), do not vary significantly in layout from each other. Urban’s speech is located in the report section of the chapter “The Genesis of the Crusades” and is introduced by a brief section about the synod. Thematically, the Crusades are located between the general explanations of the class system and the Investiture Conflict in West Europe, as well as the political and economic situation in Poland during this time.

The call to the crusade printed in the textbook consists of the last third of the papal speech, in which the Pope appeals to the “religious duty” of the “European knighthood” to free the “holy city” of Jerusalem from the hands of those of a different faith. He promises all social strata material gain in addition to the remission of punishment for sin. In this section of the speech Jerusalem is the main emphasis of the idea for the Crusade. The passages in which the Pope covers the notion of supporting domestic peace within the Christian occident are not printed.

The choice of document and its presentation in the section discussed here primarily underscores, in addition to the economic dimension, the religious dimension of the event. The author emphasizes the context of the origin of the first Crusade as a “holy war” against the Turks, or Seljuks, who were threatening Jerusalem and ponders its socio-economic aspects. His considerations are of a general nature and refer solely to Western Europe. Parallels are drawn to the Reconquista in Spain and to the enterprises of the German orders in Eastern Europe against the pagan remnants of West Slavic clans in today’s Poland. These are classified as “Crusades,” in which, according to the author, in contrast to the Crusades against the Turks, religion served as the pretense for the real goal of conquest. The author does not provide a reference to the present in his evaluation and makes no general statements about religiously motivated or legitimated wars. His interest applies to a conflict in the Middle Ages that had consequences on the political, cultural and economical development of Western Europe.

The history book was published in 1979 as a new epoch of tension in the East-West conflict was dawning under the Helsinki Accord (1.08.1975). Poland’s connection in this with (West) European history and culture is reflected through religion. The mobilization of the “Christian World” against an outside danger – in the form of the Turks as “barbarians” – created a strong sense of the collective in the Middle Ages, which was tightly merged with Christianity and which unfurled its effects upon Latin Europe for many centuries. The textbook author does not explicitly remark at any point on this idea of “Christian Europe.” Subliminally however, Christianity also appears as constitutive for the European from the point of view of Polish historiography.

Autoren:

Zitierempfehlung:

Bibliographische Daten

Dowiat, Jerzy: Historia 1, dla klasy 1 liceum ogólnoksztalcacego. Historia, Bd. 1. Warschau: Wydawnictwa Szkolne i Pedagogiczne, 13. Aufl., 1979, 402–403.

Kreuzzugsaufruf Papst Urbans II. an das europäische Rittertum (1095) von Herfordt, Ewa (2017)

Der Kreuzzugssteilnehmer und Chronist Foulcher de Chartres erinnert an den Kreuzzugsaufruf Papst Urbans II. auf der Synode in Clermont 1095. Der vorliegende Auszug daraus ist im Quellenteil wiedergegeben, der auf den Darstellungsteil über die wirtschaftlich-sozialen Veränderungen in Westeuropa (XI.-XII. Jahrhundert.) folgt. Im Layout unterscheiden sich die in dem Geschichtsbuch des Warschauer Mediävisten Prof. Jerzy Dowiat (1920-1982) abwechselnd aufeinander folgenden Darstellungs- und Quellenteile nicht wesentlich. Die Rede Urbans ist im Darstellungsteil dem Kapitel „Die Genese der Kreuzzüge“ zugeordnet und wird mit einem knappen Abschnitt über die Synode in Clermont eingeleitet. Thematisch sind die Kreuzzüge eingeordnet zwischen den allgemeinen Ausführungen über die Ständegesellschaft und den Investiturstreit in Westeuropa sowie der politischen und wirtschaftlichen Situation Polens zur Zeit des Investiturstreites.

Der im Schulbuch abgedruckte Aufruf zum Kreuzzug entspricht dem letzten Drittel der päpstlichen Rede. Darin appelliert der Papst an die „religiöse Pflicht“ des „europäischen Rittertums“, die „heilige Stadt“ Jerusalem aus den Händen der Andersgläubigen zu befreien. Er stellt allen sozialen Schichten neben dem Erlass der Sündenstrafen auch materielle Zugewinne in Aussicht. In diesem Teil der Rede liegt das Hauptgewicht der Kreuzzugsidee auf Jerusalem. Nicht abgedruckt sind die Passagen, in denen der Papst den Gedanken verfolgt, im christlichen Abendland innenpolitischen Frieden zu stiften.

Die Wahl des Dokuments und dessen Einordnung im darstellenden Teil streicht neben der ökonomischen vor allem die religiöse Dimension des Ereignisses heraus. Der Autor betont den Entstehungszusammenhang des ersten Kreuzzugs als „heiliger Krieg“ gegen die Jerusalem bedrohenden Türken, die Seldschuken, und wägt dessen sozio-ökonomische Aspekte ab. Seine Überlegungen sind allgemeiner Natur und beziehen sich ausschließlich auf Westeuropa. Parallelen werden zur Reconquista in Spanien und zu den Unternehmungen des Deutschen Ordens in Osteuropa gegen die heidnisch gebliebenen, westslawischen Stämme der Polaber gezogen. Diese werden als „Kreuzzüge“ eingestuft, in denen aber, so der Autor, anders als in den Kreuzzügen gegen die Türken, die Religion lediglich als Vorwand für die tatsächlichen Eroberungsziele gedient habe. Der Autor stellt in seiner Beurteilung keinen Gegenwartsbezug her und trifft keine allgemeinen Aussagen über religiös motivierte bzw. legitimierte Kriege. Sein Interesse gilt einem mittelalterlichen Konflikt, der Folgen für die politische, kulturelle und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung Westeuropas hatte.

Das Geschichtsbuch erschien 1979, als mit dem Helsinki-Abkommen (1.08.1975) eine neue Epoche der Entspannung im Ost-West-Konflikt in Europa angebrochen war. Die Verbundenheit Polens mit der (west)europäischen Geschichte und Kultur wird darin über die Religion reflektiert. Die Mobilisierung der „christlichen Welt“ gegen eine Gefahr von Außen – in Gestalt der Türken als „Barbaren“ – schuf im Mittelalter ein starkes Kollektivgefühl, das mit dem Christentum aufs engste verschmolzen war und viele Jahrhunderte seine Wirkung auf das lateinische Europa entfaltete. Der Schulbuchautor führt diese Idee des „christlichen Europas“ an keiner Stelle explizit aus. Unterschwellig erscheint das Christentums jedoch auch in der Nachkriegszeit als konstitutiv für das Europäische aus Sicht der polnischen Historiographie.

Autoren:

Zitierempfehlung: