Quelle

Bibliographische Daten

Barrett, Jeanne; Richardson, Fiona: Impact!, Civic, Social and Political Education for Junior Certificate. Dublin: Gill and Macmillan ltd., 5th ed. [5. Aufl.], 2010 [1998], 155, 156, 160.

"Ireland and the Wider World"


[p. 155]

Ireland and the Wider World

In Chapter 4 you saw how as citizens of Ireland we take part in and influence what happens at the national level. As citizens of Ireland we are also members of international groups such as the European Union (EU) and the United Nations (UN). As a member of international organisations, Ireland takes part in, influences and is affected by what happens in the wider world. As a global citizen , a member of the world community, each of us can influence what happens outside Ireland . As global citizens we also have certain rights and responsibilities that go beyond our local and national communities.

[p. 156]

CONNECTED

We do not have to look very far to see some of our connections with the wider world. Think about the food you eat and where it comes from. The cereals you eat were probably grown in the United States, your jam might have come from Belgium, your fruit from Latin America and your tea from India. The T-shirts you wear may have been made in Bangladesh and the jeans in America. Some of the clothes we wear do not carry a label stating the country of origin because they are made for large chain stores in Europe. From the moment you wake up in the morning you rely on and are linked to the wider world.

[...]

[depiction of a woman getting out of bed]

[depiction of a girl dressed in a school uniform]

[depiction of a woman at a desk]

[p. 160]

[...]

MEPs Have their Say

IMPACT MESSENGER

[depiction of a chat window]

[Student:] Would you describe yourself as an Irish citizen or a European citizen?

Proinsias De Rossa MEP: I have a two-sided citizenship. I am a citizen of Ireland and of the European Union. Each 'side' of my citizenship is linked to the other and each one gives me rights and responsibilities.

Mairead McGuinness MEP: I am both! I consider myself to be an Irish citizen, but also to be a European citizen. It is possible to have multiple loyalties. For example, I was born in Ardee, Co. Louth, but now live in Co. Meath - however, I regard myself as being from Co. Louth, but being very much part of Co. Meath, too.

Zitierempfehlung:

Source

Bibliographic data

Barrett, Jeanne; Richardson, Fiona: Impact!, Civic, Social and Political Education for Junior Certificate. Dublin: Gill and Macmillan ltd., 5th ed. [5. Aufl.], 2010 [1998], 155, 156, 160.

"Irland und der Rest der Welt"


[S. 155]

Irland und der Rest der Welt

In Kapitel 4 habt ihr gelernt, wie wir als irische Bürger auf nationaler Ebene mitwirken und diese beeinflussen. Als irische Bürger sind wir außerdem Mitglieder internationaler Gruppierungen , wie der Europäischen Union (EU) und den Vereinten Nationen (VN). Als Mitglied internationaler Organisationen beteiligt Irland sich, beeinflusst und ist betroffen von den Geschehen im Rest der Welt. Als ein globaler Bürger , einem Mitglied der Weltgemeinschaft, kann jeder von uns beeinflussen, was außerhalb von Irland passiert . Als globale Bürger haben wir zudem bestimmte Rechte und Pflichten, die über unsere lokalen und nationalen Gemeinschaften hinausgehen.

[S. 156]

VERBUNDEN

Wir müssen nicht sehr weit schauen, um unsere Verbindungen mit der restlichen Welt zu sehen. Denk an die Speisen, die du isst und wo diese herkommen. Die Frühstücksflocken, die du isst wurden vermutlich in den Vereinigten Staaten angebaut, deine Marmelade könnte aus Belgien sein, dein Obst aus Lateinamerika und dein Tee aus Indien. Die T-Shirts die du trägst könnten in Bangladesch hergestellt worden sein und die Jeans in Amerika. Einige der Kleidungsstücke, die wir tragen enthalten kein Etikett mit einem Hinweis auf das Ursprungsland, weil sie für große Kaufhausketten in Europa gemacht werden. Sobald du morgens wach wirst, bist du auf den Rest der Welt angewiesen und mit ihm vernetzt.

[...]

[Zeichnung einer Frau, die aus dem Bett aufsteht]

[Zeichnung eines Mädchens in Schuluniform]

[Zeichnung einer Frau an einem Schreibtisch]

[S. 160]

[...]

Abgeordnete des Europäischen Parlaments kommen zu Wort

EINFLUSS BOTE

[Zeichnung eines Chat-Fensters]

[Schüler:] Würden Sie sich selbst als Irischen oder Europäischen Bürger bezeichnen?

Proinsias De Rossa (Abgeordneter des Europäischen Parlaments): Ich habe eine zwei-seitige Staatsbürgerschaft. Ich bin Bürger von Irland und der Europäischen Union. Jede „Seite“ meiner Staatsbürgerschaft ist mit der anderen vernetzt und jede gibt mir Rechte und Pflichten.

Mairead McGuinness (Abgeordnete des Europäischen Parlaments): Ich bin beides! Ich verstehe mich selbst als irische Staatsbürgerin, aber auch als europäische Bürgerin. Es ist möglich, mehrere Zugehörigkeiten zu haben. Zum Beispiel wurde ich in Ardee in der Grafschaft Louth geboren, wohne jetzt aber in der Grafschaft Meath – nichtsdestotrotz verstehe ich mich als der Grafschaft Louth zugehörig, wenngleich ich der Grafschaft Meath ebenfalls stark angehöre.

Translation:


Recommended citation: