Source

Bibliographic data

García Gonzalez, Juan; García Gonzalez, Luis: Resumen de Geografía Historia y Cívica. Vol. 3. Quito: Editora Andina, 1985, 35, 38.

"Countries of the European Economic Community"


[p. 35]

COUNTRIES OF THE EUROPEAN ECONOMIC COMMUNITY:

SCIENTIFIC, TECHNOLOGICAL AND CULTURAL DEVELOPMENT;

AGRICULTURAL AND INDUSTRIAL PRODUCTION AND TOURISM

COUNTRIES OF THE EUROPEAN ECONOMIC COMMUNITY. – The European Economic Community, generally known by the name of the European Single Market, was created with the Treaty of Rome, signed on March 25th, 1957, and implemented in January 1958. Initially, Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Holland and the Federal Republic of Germany were integrated. In January 1973, Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom or Great Britain were incorporated, later, in 1979, Greece joined as well and acceded definitely in January 1981; at last also Spain and Portugal became integrated into this organisation on March 29th of 1985.

The European Economic Community is directed by a Council, consisting of one minister of every member state and the Commission, constituted of thirteen elected members of the community agreed on in the Council of Ministers. These two bodies are obligatorily advised by the Economic and Social Council and the advisory committee, and by other specialised bodies.

The organisation has the following principle aims: the establishment of a single market; the progressive reduction of customs tariffs; the free circulation of capital, labour and goods, obliged only to the respective commercial and social legislations; the establishment of a common agricultural policy; the support of the industrial development; and the continuous and balanced expansion of the economic activities of the Community.

The importance of the European Economic Community is justified by the fact that its external trade represents more than thirty percent of global trade, that it possesses the most advanced technology after the United States and that it is on the first place in some sectors.

SCIENTIFIC, TECHNOLOGICAL AND CULTURAL DEVELOPMENT. –

The countries which constitute the European Economic Community have had an extraordinary scientific, technological and cultural development in this last quarter of the century.

[…]

[p. 38]

In the major part of the countries which form the European Economic Community, the use of computers , which are used in most parts of the industry and businesses has risen significantly. Furthermore, the era of robots has begun, especially in the United Kingdom and the Federal Republic of Germany, whose technology is soon going to extend to the other countries of the Community.

It is estimated that the robots are highly computerized intelligent brains that are going to shape a great part of the 21. Century, to which the most difficult and risky tasks are handed over, which humans could only hardly fulfill, such as; in mines, space centers, laboratories, maintenance of large companies and shopping centers, etc.

Translation:


Recommended citation:

Source

Bibliographic data

García Gonzalez, Juan; García Gonzalez, Luis: Resumen de Geografía Historia y Cívica. Bd. 3. Quito: Editora Andina, 1985, 35, 38.

"Länder der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft"


[S. 35]

LÄNDER DER EUROPÄISCHEN WIRTSCHAFTSGEMEINSCHAFT:

WISSENSCHAFTLICHE, TECHNOLOGISCHE UND KULTURELLE ENTWICKLUNG,

LANDWIRTSCHAFTLICHE PRODUKTION, INDUSTRIE UND TOURISMUS

LÄNDER DER EUROPÄISCHEN WIRTSCHAFTSGEMEINSCHAFT. – Die Europäische Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, gemeinhin bekannt unter dem Namen Europäischer Binnenmarkt, wurde durch den Vertrag von Rom gegründet, unterzeichnet am 25. März 1957 und in Kraft seit Januar 1958. Zunächst waren Belgien, Frankreich, Italien, Luxemburg, die Niederlande und Holland und die Bundesrepublik Deutschland eingeschlossen. Im Januar 1973 wurden Dänemark, Irland und das Vereinigte Königreich oder Großbritannien aufgenommen, anschließend, 1979, schloss sich auch Griechenland an und trat 1981 in endgültiger Form bei; zuletzt integrierten sich am 29. März 1985 auch Spanien und Portugal in diese Organisation.

Die Europäische Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft wird durch einen Rat geleitet, der sich aus einem Minister aus jedem Mitgliedsland zusammensetzt und der Kommission, bestehend aus dreizehn gewählten Mitgliedern der Gemeinschaft, zugestimmt durch den Ministerrat. Diese beiden Organe werden obligatorisch durch den Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschuss und den Beratungsausschuss beraten, neben anderen spezialisierten Organen.

Diese Organisation hat als Hauptziele: die Einrichtung eines Binnenmarktes; die schrittweise Abnahme der Zolltarife; der freie Verkehr von Kapital, Arbeitskräften und Waren, einzig der jeweiligen wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Gesetzgebung verpflichtet; die Einrichtung einer gemeinsamen Agrarpolitik; die Förderung der industriellen Entwicklung; die kontinuierliche und ausgeglichene Ausweitung der wirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten der Gemeinschaft.

Die Bedeutung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft begründet sich darin, dass ihr Außenhandel mehr als dreißig Prozent des Welthandels umfasst und sie die am meisten fortgeschrittene Technologie nach den Vereinigten Staaten von Nordamerika besitzt und in einigen Sektoren an erster Stelle steht.

WISSENSCHAFTLICHE, TECHNOLOGISCHE und KULTURELLE ENTWICKLUNG.-

Die Länder, die die Europäische Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft bilden, haben in diesem letzten Viertel des Jahrhunderts eine außerordentliche wissenschaftliche, technologische und kulturelle Entwicklung gehabt.

[…]

[S. 38]

Im Großteil der Länder, die die Europäische Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft bilden, sind in den letzten Jahren die Computer im Aufwind, die überwiegend in der Industrie und in Unternehmen genutzt werden. Außerdem ist die Ära der Roboter eingeläutet, insbesondere in dem Vereinigten Königreich und der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, deren Technologie sich bald auf die weiteren Länder der Gemeinschaft ausdehnen wird.

Man vermutet, dass Roboter die hochtechnologisierten, intelligenten Hirne sein werden, die das 21. Jahrhundert in erheblichem Anteil charakterisieren werden, an die man die schwierigsten und riskantesten Aufgaben übergeben wird, die der Mensch nur schwer vollbringen könnte, als da sein könnten: in Minen, Weltraumzentren, Laboren, Wartung von Großbetrieben und Einkaufszentren etc.

Translation:

Recommended citation: