Source

Bibliographic data

Abramo, Alcione: Ensino criativo de história do Brasil - colônia. São Paulo: Editora do Brasil, 10th ed., repr. [10. Aufl., Nachdr.], 1976, 42–43.

"Our origins in the past"


[p. 42]

The third element in the creation of our people a was the black , which came from Africa starting in 1550. […]

[depiction of men doing Capoeira]

Capoeira

[p. 43]

[depiction of a slave being tortured]

Castigo de escravo.

[...]

The slaves came from various regions of Africa, mostly from the Portuguese colonies, and belonged to different nations: Bantus, Congolese, Angolan, Sudanese, Yorubas and Ewe. In general, they had a more developed culture than our indigenous people: they knew tillage, livestock breeding, smithery with metals such as copper and bronze, foundries and mining. They were skilled artists and fashioned sculptures from wood and metal and paintings on cloth or wood. Some groups, like the Yorubas and Malês b , had come into contact with the Arabs, thereby obtaining advanced knowledge, even of writing. Most of them settled in Bahia.

In their country of origin, the Africans were, like our indigenous peoples, divided into tribes, scattered in villages. The inhabitants of a village were related to each other and also had a war chief and a spiritual leader. The most important decisions were in the hands of the village or tribal elders who gathered in council.

Their religion, customs, dances, music, songs and food merged with the culture that the Portuguese had brought, just as the culture of the indigenous peoples did. This mixture created the Brazilian culture, which is rich and varied due to the influence of these three races.

Concerning the mix of races, the cross between a white person and an indigenous person resulted in the mestizo , the cross between a black and an indigenous person the cafuzo , and the cross between a white and a black person the mulatto .

[a] Translator’s note: Literally: of our ethnicity.

[b] Translator’s note: The term Malês designated Muslim slaves in Brazil.

Translation:

Recommended citation:

Source

Bibliographic data

Abramo, Alcione: Ensino criativo de história do Brasil - colônia. São Paulo: Editora do Brasil, 10th ed., repr. [10. Aufl., Nachdr.], 1976, 42–43.

"Unsere Ursprünge in der Vergangenheit"


[S. 42]

Der dritte Bestandteil bei der Herausbildung unseres Volkes a war der Schwarze, der seit 1550 aus Afrika kam. […]

[...]

[Zeichnung von Männern die Capoeira machen]

Capoeira

[S. 43]

[Zeichnung eines Sklaven, der gefoltert wird]

Castigo de escravo.

[...]

Die Sklaven kamen aus verschiedenen Regionen Afrikas, vor allem aus den portugiesischen Kolonien, und gehörten verschiedenen Völkern an: Bantus, Kongolesen, Angolanern, Sudanesen, Yoruba und Ewe. Im Allgemeinen besaßen sie eine weiter entwickelte Kultur als unsere Indigenen: Sie kannten den Ackerbau, die Viehzucht, das Handwerk mit Metallen wie Kupfer und Bronze, die Gießerei und den Bergbau. Sie waren geschickte Künstler und fertigten Skulpturen aus Holz und Metall und Malereien auf Stoff oder Holz an. Einige Gruppen wie die Yoruba und Malês b waren mit den Arabern in Kontakt getreten, wodurch sie sehr fortgeschrittene Kenntnisse sogar der Schrift erlangt hatten. Die meisten von ihnen ließen sich in Bahia nieder.

Wie unsere Indigenen waren die Afrikaner in ihrem Herkunftsland in Stämmen organisiert und in Dörfern verstreut. Die Angehörigen eines Dorfes waren verwandt und es gab auch einen Kriegshäuptling und ein religiöses Oberhaupt. Die wichtigen Entscheidungen oblagen den Ältesten des Dorfes oder des Stammes, die sich in Form eines Rates versammelten.

Ihre Religion, Bräuche, Tänze, Musik, Gesänge und Lebensmittel verschmolzen schließlich mit der Kultur, die die Portugiesen mitgebracht hatten, genauso wie die indigene. Aus dieser Mischung entstand die brasilianische Kultur, die aufgrund der Einflüsse dieser drei Rassen reich und vielfältig ist.

Was die rassische Verschmelzung angeht, so entstand aus der Kreuzung von Weißen und Indigenen der Mestize , aus der Kreuzung zwischen Schwarzen und Indigenen der Cafuzo und aus der Kreuzung zwischen Weißen und Schwarzen der Mulatte .

[a] Wörtlich: unserer Ethnie ; die ÜbersetzerInnen.

[b] Malês wurden muslimische Sklaven in Brasilien genannt; die ÜbersetzerInnen.

Translation:

Recommended citation: